Pilates While Under the Influence of Male

Fitness and Health

 

I am a guy. All I know about Pilates is that it is something that girls go and do with other girls to talk shit and gossip. Turns out, I’m wrong.

I’ve now got at least three different points in my body facing chronic neuropathic pain conditions, two from old sports injuries and one from a recent operation. Over the past year I’ve lost around 17kg from moving to a mainly Vegan diet utilizing as much of the Raw foods I can pallet at this time. That isn’t bad, but by no means should I stop because I’m still over weight, still want to be healthier, and still want to look better.

My main hurdle at this point is that I simply cannot exercise, so all of the weight I’ve lost has been simply from eating better and at a rate of just over a 1kg a month. I can walk for about 30min maybe twice a week outside my normal public transport routine, and when I do I’ll have decent pain for two days post the walk. This is something I can’t let continue!

I was explaining this to one of the guys I work with, 25 years my senior, who is still in great shape. Former competitive body builder. He suggested Pilates after I explained my issues and my immediate reaction was to laugh because to me, and after researching Pilates most men, Pilates was for girls. I thought it was half yoga half ballet or something, no idea! Well he said it wasn’t, and said it was developed by a guy for literally men who are in sports rehabilitating from serious injury.

So I looked it up, and yes, the Pilates industry wants men to know it isn’t just for women. They want us to know that it helps people with sport injuries and chronic pain both. Though I have no fucking clue how I can get over my insecurities long enough to go to a class and start doing that stuff. It looks so foreign to a male! I think I’ll have to spend a little bit extra and get one on one classes with some form of clothing that doesn’t reveal the wonderful sight of my nuts being snuggied up into my chest when I’m stretching…

Pilates is one of the only things though that claims it can have a lasting effect on chronic pain, so it isn’t something I can ignore… Just something I have to work the nerve up to try.

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by sugarbxx on February 5, 2015 - 6:28 am

    Do it! I did pilates for a little while at my gym and you’d be surprised how many males were in the class!

    Liked by 1 person

    • #2 by loveworldproblems on February 5, 2015 - 6:40 am

      I am looking for something close to the office right this second 🙂 Still want to keep it one-on-one until I can do it without looking like a total idiot lol.

      Like

  2. #3 by scarletinsydney on February 5, 2015 - 11:19 am

    If your having pain hot yoga is also a good option. Lots of people do it and it helps release the tension on your body.

    Like

    • #4 by loveworldproblems on February 5, 2015 - 12:40 pm

      Yeah, plenty of pain, I will certainly look that up as I haven’t heard of that before either 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

