Daily Post – Me Mix

mixtape-1

This will be easy I thought, no problems, I like a wide range of music and finding songs which explain me and my life would be a piece of cake. Nope! Turns out I was wrong and spent more than a few hours listening to songs while working trying to make this post actually work out haha. I am being a bit picky, not picking the song title or just a single line from a song which fits me, rather I’m trying for songs where the entirety of it hits me on the head.

What also makes it hard is that a metric crap ton of music is all about being in love or broken hearts after love. Both of which I am quite inexperienced at, to have a broken heart you need a chance to have love. Not as easy as I thought, but here goes.

 

DEF LEPPARD – “Love Bites”

I don’t wanna touch you too much baby
‘Cos making love to you might drive me crazy
I know you think that love is the way you make it
So I don’t wanna be there when you decide to break it
No!

I guess this is a precautionary falling for someone song especially if you’ve been burnt before which I have, example; just when I thought things were going well with a girl I was dating for around two weeks a few years back, she up and ditches me. Why? I am too boring she said, not as exciting as she thought I was(truth hurts). What got me most is she ran back to a guy who beat the crap out of her in the past, more than once. Makes ya feel good. Makes you cautious about the next person you fall for…

 

JOHNNY CASH – “Before My Time”

I know that hearts were loving
Long before I was here
And I’m not the first to ever cry
In my bed or in my beer
There were songs before there was radio
Of love that stays and love that goes
They were writing meloncholy tunes
And tearful words that rhyme
Before my time
Before my time

This song to me is a great reminder that everything I am experiencing in life has been experienced before, by others, many times over. I think it helps to understand that while names and places might be different, nothing is unique about my problems at all 🙂

 

Tom Petty – “Two Gunslingers”

Two gunslingers, walked out in the street
And one said “I don’t want to fight no more”
And the other gunslinger thought about it
And he said, “yeah what are we fighting for?”

This is a great song, and exactly how I feel about all of the senseless violence out int he world readily available for observation. A simple realization and coming to terms that what is going down isn’t right and you don’t have to be a part of it!

 

Papa Roach – “Scars”

I tear my heart open
I sew myself shut
My weakness is
That I care too much
My scars remind us
That the past is real
I tear my heart open
Just to feel

This one is pretty self explanatory!

 

Alan Jackson – “Here In The Real World”

But here in the real world, it’s not that easy at all
‘Cause when hearts get broken, it’s real tears that fall
And darlin’ it’s sad but true, but the one thing I’ve learned from you
Is how the boy don’t always get the girl, here in the real world

Damn. Country music really has a way of kicking you while you’re down doesn’t it! This song describes the set of circumstances which have lead me to be over cautious to the point of never even bothering to ask anyone out any more lol.

 

I think that will basically give you all an idea of what I am like, if you were to listen to a set of songs meant to describe me 🙂

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mix Tape Masterpiece.”

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

